Detached

My sister has the day off and offered to watch the boy for a couple of hours while I went to work. 

I had visions of all the things I would get done, day dreams of working in quiet, of finishing an entire spreadsheet without having to pull little hands out of the desk drawer or protect the computer’s power button.  The boy will get some quality time with his favorite aunt, I’ll get a much-needed break, it’s perfect!

What a fool I am.

Oh, it’s quiet, alright.  Too quiet.  I can’t seem to focus.  I have been sitting here for an hour, wondering how long I have to wait before I can go pick up my son.  I have discovered I am incapable of working without someone biting my leg or pulling my hair. 

It’s not that I am worried about leaving him–I know he doing just fine on his mini-adventure.  I just miss him, that’s all. 

The flip side of this whole attachment parenting thing is that it feels so incredibly wrong to be unattached, no matter how temporarily.

Now, if I’d used this time to take a bubble bath or a nice long nap, that may have been another story…

1 Response to “Detached”


  1. 1 Veronica October 21, 2009 at 5:23 am

    Yes! I know exactly how you feel! Amy is going out with her uncle and aunt tomorrow and while I’m sure it will be lovely, I’m going to spend the whole day worrying and missing her.


Leave a Reply

