I Love Babywearing

The Magic Sling

The Magic Sling

 While I was at the store today, a lady stopped me to ask me about “that hammock thing” I was carrying Jayden in.  We wound up talking for at least ten minutes while I explained what I was wearing (a KarmaBaby sling), how to use it, why I love it, why I don’t love Baby Bjorns, the benefits of babywearing, and where she could find one just like it.  It reminded me just how much I love babywearing, and I wanted to share some of that love with you:

  • I can get chores done without fighting a crying baby.
  • Trips to the grocery store are so much easier with J strapped comfortably to me.  There’s no fight about sitting in the cart, and I don’t have to worry about him chewing on the handle.  Win-win.
  • I can easily stuff my carrier of choice for the day in my diaper bag, meaning less stuff to haul around on trips.
  • Three words: hands-free breastfeeding.
  • My carrier also makes an excellent blanket, changing mat, sun cover, and burp cloth.
  • It’s a great way to get in extra snuggles, which we both love. 
  • I don’t have to wrestle with him while waiting in line at the bank.  Added bonus: my arms aren’t dead by the time I leave.  My baby is many things, but light isn’t one of them.
  • Say goodbye to baby weight–babywearing is a great way to add a little exercise to my day.
  • It’s good for him: babywearing provides him with mental stimulation, helps him feel secure, and he rarely cries.  (Studies show that babies who are worn cry 53% less than those who are never worn.)
  • If he is refusing to nap, putting him in the wrap almost always calms him down and puts him to sleep.
  • Slings, wraps, and soft-structured carriers (like an Ergo) hold him in a position that is better for his hip development.
  • I have been wearing J in a sling since he was new, and can still comfortably carry all 24 pounds of him.  With my wrap, I will be able to wear him well into toddlerhood.  You can’t say that about a Baby Bjorn (or other similar carriers).
4 Responses to “I Love Babywearing”


  1. 1 pinklilybit October 12, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    i wonder how it works for those us who are a little, um, more “endowed” than others, I know with the Snugli, I couldn’t carry her becuase i was too top heavy, i would topple! and my breast’s hurt SO bad, next time, I’m definitely doing the sling when she’s smaller, but I’m hesitant about using after she’s as big as Jayden!

  2. 2 mamajade October 14, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    I would really recommend a wrap. Perfect for every size, completely adjustable, and you can use it in a variety of ways. Don’t be scared, give it a try next time. 🙂

  3. 3 Lisa October 19, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    I loved wearing my babies. I used the Maya Wrap and just adored it. If I could, I’d put my 7 yo son in a sling!


Leave a Reply

