Attachment Parenting Month

APmonthWhile writing about being an Attachment Parenting mommy (and pointing out that maybe you are, too), I discovered that October is Attachment Parenting Month.  This year’s theme, “Attached at the Heart Through the Years,” focuses on the importance of building strong, healthy bonds with your children not only as infants, but throughout their lives.  During this month, parents are challenged to look at their daily activities and try to find new ways of building a close, supportive family.   As part of the celebration, Attachment Parenting International is having all kinds of contests and daily activities to help families connect and incorporate AP practices into their daily lives.  (Today’s suggested activity: Bake chocolate chip cookies with your kids.) 

I, personally, am looking forward to challenging myself to be a better mom this month.  (In fact, some days it’s a bit more challenging than others.  Today, for example.  It’s awfully hard to incorporate positive discipline strategies with a one year old who wants nothing more than to bite the dog.  Seriously, after two hours of constant re-direction and whatnot, my patience is *gone.*)  Some days it’s just all too easy to get caught up in the have-tos, to get bogged down by worries, to get wrapped up in whatever else is going on, and we forget to just stop and enjoy our kids.  I try to remind myself that J doesnt care if the laundry gets folded, or the bathroom gets cleaned, or the lawn gets mowed.  He cares that I take time to play with him, snuggle him, take him for walks, read him books.  And while it’s hard some days, I know that in the long run, the work I am doing to parent him with love, respect, and kindness will pay off big time.  I really can’t say that about the laundry.

I may not make chocolate chip cookies today, but I challenge myself today to hold on to my patience.  To spend an extra 15 minutes reading before bed time.  And always, to love him with all my heart.

What is your challenge today?

2 Responses to “Attachment Parenting Month”


  1. 1 Veronica October 7, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    My challenge today is to not lose my cool as my daughter loses hers. To remember that it’s not her fault right now that she can’t control her behaviour, it’s the gluten we’re feeding her.

    And my son, well, as long as I’m not deaf by the end of the day, I’ll be happy.

  2. 2 mamajade October 8, 2009 at 11:30 am

    “My challenge today is to not lose my cool as my daughter loses hers.” Very well put. Add that to my list as well.


Leave a Reply

