Happy Birthday, Baby!

And so we meet...
 
One year ago today, a miracle landed in my life.
 
Literally, landed.  After hours of back labor and doctor drama (a story in itself), Jayden Eli surprised everyone by arriving in a rush and landing on the hospital floor.  The nurse had just enough time to put her hand under his head, but the rest of him met the ground with an audible splat.  How was it the doctor put on the chart?  Oh yes, “arrived precipitously on the hospital floor.”  He was immediately nicknamed Crash.

He was a month early, tiny and blue and I’m not sure which one of us was more surprised to find him suddenly in the outside world.  There was a long moment when everything froze, and we just stared at each other.  I probably would have stayed frozen like that for the rest of the day, but nurses rushed in to lift me to the bed and move J to the baby warmer where they spent a good deal of time trying to get him to breathe.  I’d tell you how terrifying that was, but in all honesty it didn’t become scary to me until much later.  I think I was in shock, because I just stared in silence as the doctors and nurses fluttered around him. 

The next few hours were utter chaos.  We’re not even sure what time he was actually born, because no one managed to look at the clock.  Not that I cared much about that.  Nothing mattered beyond the tiny little being that had finally been placed in my arms.  It wasn’t until the dark, quiet hours of that following night that it suddenly connected in me that the bundle I had been clutching for hours was actually the same baby that had been inside of me for all those months.  It was a very strange, powerful moment.  I had not slept for over 48 hours.  I had been through the most intense, grueling, powerful experience of my life.  And yet… I have never been so incredibly exhilirated as I was in that moment.  I couldn’t have slept, even if I had wanted to.

We had a rough start, Jayden and I, but you wouldn’t know it looking at us now.  He has thrived and grown (perhaps a little too quickly for my taste), evolved from the tiny helpless stranger that fell into my life to the  happy, quirky, opinionated toddler who lights up my world. 

It’s been a good year.  Happy birthday, baby.

6 Responses to “Happy Birthday, Baby!”


  1. 1 Lisa@ All That and a Box of Rocks September 17, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    Wow, what a birth story!! Yikes. Happy Birthday, Jayden Eli! ( I have an Eli, too.)

    Thanks for posting at MBC~
    Lisa

  2. 2 TheAdamYouKnow September 17, 2009 at 7:44 pm

    I love you guys! I remember calling you in the one moment you had between hospital and home where you could actually talk. That was an exciting day indeed!

    One year of many glorious ones to come!

    • 3 mamajade September 17, 2009 at 9:35 pm

      Oh, I love you too! I’m glad you remember, because I don’t. 🙂 Things were a bit hazy there for a while. Perhaps because I went into labor on Tuesday and didn’t lay down to sleep until Friday?

  3. 4 pinklilybit September 17, 2009 at 11:16 pm

    Happy Birthday Handsome and happy “I kept my kid alive despite over powering odds against us” day to you Scout!

  4. 5 chichiboulie September 19, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    Wonderful story. We has a rather quick and dramatic birth with our third and as you say, you don’t realise how dramatic it is until you look back. Good thing!


  1. 1 At the End of the Rainbow: My Breastfeeding Story « Strained Peas (and other messes) Trackback on November 6, 2009 at 2:00 am

Leave a Reply

